Macncheesepancakeseggs: Part 2

In case you were on the edge of your seat wondering if I followed through with my cooking bonanza this weekend, your wait is over…  I did.

With my husband and son out of town for a couple of days I did just what I wanted — and needed — to do:  clean, cook, play golf, watch stupid TV, and sleep past 7:30 both weekend mornings.  I discovered Lifetime Movie Network and it’s almost as addictive as Twitter.  I watched Winnnie Cooper (you know, from that 80’s show with Fred Savage) get pregnant and held hostage by her baby daddy.  I watched a preacher’s daughter have an affair with the married church music director.  I watched one of the dozen made-for-TV movies on the Scott & Lacey Peterson story.  Riveting, all of it.  My husband is concerned that this infatuation will grip me as much as SoapNet’s 90210 reruns have for so long.  As bad as this all sounds, I actually don’t watch that much TV; this was a special circumstance.  But I do know exactly where to find LMN if I need it…

I digress.  So the cooking marathon started promptly after the cleaning marathon went into halftime, and after I finished 18 holes of golf and gossiping with a friend.  You’ll recall from my previous post that since Junior is on a mac-n-cheese diet these days, I wanted to make a big batch laced with veggies to ease my conscience.  Mission accomplished.  In my freezer are 10 single-serve containers of creamy macaroni and cheese infused with pureed cauliflower and butternut squash.  I will admit that the cheese far outweighs the vegetables, but something is better than nothing right?  And you know what?  It’s delicious.  I wouldn’t have taken the time to portion it out and freeze it without doing a little quality control, and I was very happy with the results.  So when I feel like it will be a mac-n-cheese night, I’ll transfer a container from the freezer to the fridge in the morning, let it thaw during the day, and pop it in the microwave at dinner time.  Or, transfer it to a small dish and bake it if that’s the preference.  It’s fully cooked, so either one will work.

I have to say that I hit the jackpot when I was shopping for containers.  I envisioned putting the servings into miniature aluminum tart pans, but I couldn’t find any and didn’t feel like scouring the surrounding counties for them.  What I found, however, was even better:  flip-lid plastic containers that are freezer/microwave/dishwasher safe.  14 of them for $2.97.  BPAfree.  Thanks Wal-Mart!  Check these guys out.

I also cleaned out the vegetable bin in the fridge and made some tomato sauce since I had some extra containers.  Junior normally loves homemade pizza so I made him one using the sauce.  He ate the cheese from the top and gave the rest to the dog.  Oh well.  One day he’ll let red sauce back into his life and I’ll be ready.

Tomorrow morning Junior will stand up in his crib all sleepy-eyed, hair sticking out in every direction, and in a crackly voice ask for macncheesepancakeseggs.  Who knows, maybe I’ll say yes to all 3 so I can laugh to myself as he eats cauliflower for breakfast…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

