Macncheesepancakeseggs

Curious about that title?  Add a few spaces and you’ll see that it spells “mac-n-cheese, pancakes, eggs”.  But to Junior those three items are one word.  I make the mistake every afternoon of asking him what he wants for dinner, knowing that he’ll respond with “macncheesepancakeseggs”.  Toss in some Cheerios and graham crackers and you’ve got his ideal menu for the next 6 months. 

From what I’ve heard this is all very typical at his age.  He knows what he likes and isn’t afraid to tell me, and he’s getting smart enough to know if I’m trying to pull one over on him.  He’s even starting to over-analyze the Babycakes creations, and they were my best weapon for sneaking good things into his little belly.  So I’ve decided to wave the white flag and give into his demands, but on my terms…

This weekend Junior and his dad are heading out of town to my in-laws’ house for an abbreviated boys weekend.  That’s code for “husband, after my rain-soaked, scream-filled road trip last week I need to have at least one day to myself to clean the house and have some silence so please take Junior to see his Grammy and Grampy and leave me alone with my bucket, mop, Pledge, and dog.”  He obliged.  One of my goals this weekend is to make a pile of homemade macaroni and cheese, laced with whatever pureed vegetables that will blend in with cheese sauce.  I’ll divide the supply into individual disposable containers, and store them in the freezer.  So a couple of times a week he CAN have his mac-n-cheese (plus cauliflower, squash, carrot, or whatever else I try to stuff in it) and the individual servings mean I won’t have to waste a bunch.  I have friends who’ve successfully used this technique and I’m ready to jump on board.

If you follow MommyBanter on Twitter (@mommybanter) you would know that Junior also loves hamburgers.  I cut them in half and he takes a big bite out of the middle so it looks like a half-moon, and he talks about eating the moon from that point on.  Works for me.  Given his affinity for burgers these days I’ve also started fortifying those with stuff from the produce drawer.  A couple of weeks ago I put a handful of spinach and red bell pepper in the chopper and mixed it right in with the burger patties.  He loved them.  (I posted a pic on Twitter – see what you may be missing??)  So this weekend I also plan to make a bunch of burger patties loaded with stuff.  And fortunately I still have the homemade pizza fallback.  He hasn’t started examining what’s under the cheese yet so I’m able to mix in shredded zucchini or spinach or whatever.  As long as it’s under a blanket of mozzarella he doesn’t want to put the effort into a veggie investigation.  For now… 

I also got several cool ideas when I watched “cook with your kids weekend” on the Food Network not too long ago.  Melissa d’Arabian (@MelissadArabian) whipped up pancake batter loaded with all sorts of fruits, veggies, and oatmeal.  She added cocoa powder to make them chocolately, but my kiddo won’t eat chocolate (unbelievable) so I’ll have to play around with it.  Boy, for someone who’s looking forward to peace and quiet I just realized I’ve set some lofty culinary goals for myself this weekend…   I will most definitely post pictures of my kid food bonanza next week, assuming I don’t get lazy and postpone the project.  I appreciate any motivation you can send my way.

I must sound a tad bit neurotic, but like I’ve said before I only have control over what he eats in the morning and evenings.  His daycare lunches are fine I guess, but certainly not catered in from Whole Foods for anything remotely close.  He’s a kid and I have no problem with him noshing on fish sticks and chicken nuggets, but I feel like it’s my duty to balance that out a little when he gets home.  Weird??  Maybe, but we all have our hang-ups…  If you have tips or tricks don’t be stingy — send them my way!

2 thoughts on “Macncheesepancakeseggs

  1. i love breakfast dinners! Make the pcakes whole wheat with some fruit… some french toast… whole wheat toast… scrambled eggs.. i could have it every night. maybe a fruit/veggie yogurt smoothie? i think junior’s got it right.

    • Yes! We have breakfast for dinner quite often too. When 2 of the 3 staples are breakfast foods there’s not much choice is there? Hahaha. Thanks for the feedback — hope you visit again soon!

Leave a Reply

