Hakuna Frittata

By Thursday evenings I start running out of dinner ideas.  I try to cook as much as possible during the week but sometimes I just draw a blank.  As of 5:00 this afternoon I was still full from the big dinner at a work function the night before, so the thought of cooking was less than appealing.  But on the way home from work I remembered a page I flagged in my most recent Food Network Magazine…  Tonight would be a frittata night.

There’s no better way to clean out the fridge than with a frittata.  I started with the basic recipe from the magazine, and per usual, decided to doctor it up.  Oh but wait, that short little guy watching Thomas the Train needs to eat too…  So the executive chef of the house decided that he’d have a frittata night as well.  But mama was going to make his fun, and the best way to do it???  Yep, the Baby Cakes machine.  If you’ve been keeping up with my posts you know by now that it’s an all-purpose pizza/quesadilla/donut/pie/and now frittata maker.  So here’s the mixture I threw together for both of our dinners:

1 small shallot

1 clove garlic

1 medium zucchini (grated)

A couple big handfuls of fresh baby spinach

8 eggs

A little milk or a dollop of yogurt

2 tbsp bread crumbs

A handful of feta cheese

Some medium sized frozen shrimp (thawed) — I didn’t include these in the short guy’s version, just ours

1/2 tsp oregano

Salt and pepper

Sorry, I never have exact measurements but you get the drift…  I sauteed the shallot and garlic in a little oil, then added the grated zucchini and spinach after a minute or two and let it all cook down together.  Put it off to the side and let it cool some.

Meanwhile whisk the eggs, milk or yogurt, bread crumbs, cheese, oregano, salt and pepper in a bowl, and add the veggie mixture once it’s cooled down (to avoid scrambling the egg mixture).

For the tot’s version I added a teaspoon of the egg and veggie mixture into each well of the Baby Cakes machine, pulled the top down, and a minute or so later I had six of the cutest little frittata puffs I’ve ever seen.  I made another half batch to make sure he had enough to eat.  Here’s his version:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Later when I was ready to fix ours, I added the thawed shrimp to the egg mixture and poured it into a buttered pie pan (deep dish).  I cooked it in a 450-degree oven for about 35-40 minutes, or until the center was set.  Let it sit for about 10 minutes before cutting and digging in.  Here’s our version:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I wish I had a better camera…  My point and shoot just doesn’t do it justice.  Maybe next time I’ll add a sprig of parsley or something.  So back to the junior version, you can also make the frittatas in a mini muffin tin if you don’t have a Baby Cakes.  Just make sure it’s well-greased so you can get them out!  And yes, I’m aware that I could have just scrambled his eggs and saved myself the mess and trouble, but when he sees something on his plate with that distinctive shape he doesn’t hesitate to eat it.  It’s a win-win situation, and after the crazy purple-faced episode the other night I wasn’t trying to rock the boat.  Yes buddy, you CAN have another cheese stick tonight.  Choose your battles mama….

P.S.  There were leftovers.  Guess what’s for breakfast tomorrow?

Leave a Reply

